Nemo wins the 2024 OUTmusic Award

24-year-old Nemo (they/them) will represent Switzerland during the Eurovision Song Contest 2024 in Malmö with the song The Code. Thousands of LGBTQI+ viewers voted them the winner of this year's OUTmusic Award. The annual award has become one of the best predictors of the eventual winner of the Eurovision Song Contest.
Twitter Icon Facebook Icon Share this

The viewers of OUTtv voted the Netherlands, Joost Klein with his song Europapa, as second favourite and the top 3 was completed with Croatia, Baby Lasagna with Rim Tim Tagi Dim. Nemo took first place with more than thirty percent of all votes.

A visibly emotional Nemo said while accepting the award: “This really means a lot to me. It was really scary to me that Eurovision happened so fast, because I was not out publicly as a non-binary person for that long. It is a rollercoaster ride. The OUTmusic Award makes me really happy and I’m really grateful for the support. To everyone that relates to the song, or found joy through the song or overcame a challenge themselves, I see all of that. It really means the world to me. Thank you so much.”

Since the first prize was awarded fourteen years ago, the winners of the OUTmusic Award have reached the top 3 during the Eurovision Song Contest final. An impressive total of eight OUTmusic Award recipients ended up winning in the year they participated (Kalush Orchestra, Lena, Loreen, Conchita, Emmelie de Forest, Måns Zelmerlöw, Netta and Duncan Laurence). So far Loreen is the only Eurovision winner to receive the OUTmusic Award in both years of her victory (2012 and 2023).

Twitter Icon Facebook Icon Share this

Recommended articles